CALHOUN IS LONE GREEN COUNTY - Thirty-Seven Counties Red West Virginia's Covid-19 Map


Courtesy of Kanawha County WV (WCHS/WVAH)

Dec. 26th - Thirty-seven of West Virginia’s 55 counties were red in Saturday’s county alert system map.

The state Department of Health and Human Resources posted the map Saturday based on data from Friday.

Despite increasing Calhoun in cases, Calhoun is the only county in green within 55 counties.

The 37 counties in red included Wayne, Mingo, Wyoming, Mercer, Logan, Lincoln, Boone, Cabell, Mason, Fayette, Greenbrier, Clay, Braxton, Jackson, Wirt, Wood, Ritchie, Pleasants, Doddridge, Tyler, Wetzel, Marshall, Ohio, Brooke, Hancock, Upshur, Barbour, Taylor, Pendleton, Preston, Harrison, Grant, Hardy, Hampshire, Morgan, Berkeley and Jefferson.

Thirteen counties were in orange on the daily map, including McDowell, Raleigh, Summers, Monroe, Putnam, Kanawha, Nicholas, Webster, Pocahontas, Lewis, Marion, Monongalia and Mineral counties. Raleigh and Pocahontas moved from gold to orange.

Three counties – Roane, Gilmer and Tucker – remained gold. Randolph County remains the only yellow county in the state while Calhoun is the lone green county.

The West Virginia Department of Education will not release a state map Saturday evening because schools are out for the holidays, Gov. Jim Justice announced Friday. The weekly map release will resume Saturday, Jan. 2.