Three West Virginia counties who were deemed COVID-19 community clusters have been removed from an executive order that gave health department's more authority to create stricter rules inside the county, in the interest of public health and safety.

Gov. Jim Justice said Sunday that Kanawha, Jackson, and Ohio Counties had been removed the order.

Four counties that are on the list have asked they stay on include Berkeley, Harrison, Jefferson, and Monongalia.

West Virginia Coronavirus Czar Dr. Clay Marsh and State Health Officer Dr. Cathy Slemp say they are working with health leaders in Wayne, Cabell, Marion, and Wood counties to determine if they too can be removed from the list.

As of Sunday at 5 p.m. here is where each county stands in terms of cases.

REMOVED FROM HOTSPOT LIST: Jackson County - 130 cases; Kanawha County - 167 cases; Ohio County - 33 cases.

STILL ON HOTSPOT LIST: Berkeley County - 159 cases; Harrison County - 31 cases; Jefferson County - 81 cases; Monogalia County - 105 cases; Cabell County - 44 cases; Wayne County - 89 cases; Wood County - 41 cases; Marion County - 46 cases.

All 55 counties in West Virginia remain under statewide restrictions including a Safer at Home order which goes into effect at 12:01 a.m. Monday.

Justice says later this week a new methodology will be released that will give the state additional flexibility to introduce more exact response plans that would meet the needs of each specific county, if a new hotspot were to develop.