CHURCH AND BURROWS RECEIVE HIGH SPORTS HONORS - Calhoun High's Most Valuable Players Announced, One Hundred Student Athletes Recognized


The 2007 Most Valuable Players (left to right) Samantha Wilson (Cheerleading); Eddie Burrows (Wayne Underwood Award); Cody Clark (Wrestling); Dani Church (Lady Red Devil Award, Basketball, Softball); Courtney McKown (Volleyball); Jeff Goodrich (Football, Baseball); not pictured Zach Moore (Boy's Basketball) and David Lee (Cross Country)

About 100 Calhoun High School athletes were recognized Friday night at the All-Sports Banquet at CM-HS.

The athletes, with parents, coaches and supporters enjoyed a banquet dinner prior to the awards ceremony.

Athletic Booster president Kelley Houchin recognized the dozens of volunteers who have donated energy to support the school's athletic programs.

Athletes, parents, coaches and supporters attended the All-Sports Banquet

Coach Melinda Fitzwater recognized cross county, coach Bryan Sterns recognized football, coach Angie Hersman recognized volleyball, coach Sandy Weaver recognized cheerleading, coach Angie Hersman recognized girl's basketball, coach Tim Moore recognized boy's basketball, coach Mike Stump recognized wrestling, coach Dave White recognized softball and coach Jeff Houchin recognized baseball.

Those attending viewed a PowerPoint presentation featuring the school's athletes.

Houchin said "The CHS Athletic Boosters wish to gratefully thank sponsors, advertisers, coaches, parents and others who contributed to the athletic programs. Without your continued support, the success of our programs would be in jeopardy."

The 2007 Wayne Underwood Award went to Eddie
Burrows (R) presented by 2006 winner Paul Goodrich (L)

The 2007 Lady Red Devil Award went to Dani
Church (right) presented by 2006 winner Katie Walker

The Wall of Fame Awards went to
(L to R) Courtney McKown, Cody Clark and Dani Church