ONE HUNDRED AND EIGHT SENIORS GRADUATE - 80th Calhoun High School Commencement


Over one hundred seniors receive diplomas

Grads watch "Memories" of their school years

Gym was jam-packed with well-wishers

One-Hundred and eight seniors filed into the Calhoun Middle-High School gym Friday night to become the graduating class of 2004. The building was crammed with parents, relatives, students and well-wishers, likely the largest congregation in the county this year.

Superintendent of Schools Ron Blankenship accepted the class for graduation. He and school board President Rick Fitzwater issued the diplomas.

Graduate Casey Harris congratulated by friends

Marching on to life after high school

Principal Mike Offutt said all the graduates made it to the event, although one was late. School was canceled yesterday because of local flooding and some roads were closed.

It was the 80th commencement exercise for the school. Calhoun High was originally built in Grantsville as a "county school" and was moved to Mt. Zion campus six years ago to the multi-million dollar complex.

The class Valedictorians, Zachary Houchin, Chelsie Hupp and Barbara Shock addressed their class, in addition to Salutatorian Victoria Lamont. Besides challenging the class members, much of the evening was spent remembering the years together with a "Memories" program projected on the gym wall.

Principal Mike Offutt announced about $775,000 in scholarships, saying about half of the senior class has indicated they are going ahead to a four-year college and about 20% to a two-year college. (The scholarship recipients and other awards will follow in the Herald)

A instrumental version of the National Anthem was played by Shaun Hilligas and Brandon Sampson, the CCHS Choir under the direction of Faye Chambers sang "Our Friends" and Derek Roberts and Tyson Price delivered a song dedicated to class member Cindy Ann Self, who was killed in a car accident.

The Calhoun Middle-High School band under the direction of Harry Beall delivered an upbeat "Dawn of a New Day."

The graduates of 2004:

Justin Matthew Ashley, Jacob Daniel McCumbers, Kelly Renee Badgett, Dennis Lee McCune, Zachary Ryan Bailey, Ricky Joe McCune, Tiffany Renee Barr, Dennis Lee McKay, Chasity Nichole Bell, Denzil Lee McKay, Jr., Teresa Lenore Bell, Amanda Jean McNish, James Forrest Blankenship, II, Eric Douglas Metz, Justin Kent Boatright, Kelly Dawn Metz, Christopher Adam Boone, Crystal Lynn Miller, Ryan Andrew Bremar, Kristopher Mark Miller, Shannon Marie Brown, Chad Andrew Moore, Holly Anne Burch, Holly Lynn Moss, Joshua Keith Burkett, Shanon Lee Nelson, Zachariah Jeffery Carpenter, Joshua Brown Nichols, Brittany Nicole Church, Timothy Ryan Noggle, Christopher Dallas Cox, Melissa Gayle Oshoway, Marcus Anthony Davis, Samantha Jo Parsons, Debra Renae Dawson, Katie Renee Perkins, Kevin Scott Deweese, Michalle Renea Perkins, David Allen Dodd, Jeremy Dewain Poling, David Wayne Eagle, Tyson Lee Price, Cecil Harold Farrell, Alicia Dawn Richards, Ryan Scott Fitzwater, Mellisa Dawn Richards, Tonya Marie Fought, Ryan Matthew Richards, Brandon Lee Gainer, Britney Layne Riddel, Chasity Marie Garrett, Jeffrey Wayne Riggs, Ashley Danielle Godfrey, Zeb Ryan Ritchie, Tanya Elaine Godfrey, Derek Keith Roberts, Kyle Lee Good, Steven Ray Rogers, Amber Marie Goodrich, Brandon James Sampson, Danielle Brooke Goodrich, Christopher Mark Sampson. Michael Lee Grogg, Kelley Brooke Sampson, Jonathan Paul Hall, Stacy Lynn Sampson, Matthew Ryan Hall, Edward Allen Scott, Tiffany Brooke Hall, Barbara Christine Shock, Kacy Michelle Harris, Teresa Ann Siers, Melissa Ann Hartshorn, Joshua Lee Simmons, Shawn Eugene Hillegas, Erica Leigh Smith, Terra Michelle Holbert, Christy Nicole Stalnaker, Miranda Ann Houchin, Judy Marie Starcher, Zachary Lee Houchin, Jonathan Scott Stephenson, Chelsie Ranee Hupp, Brittney Ray Stevens, Katie Jo Hupp, Susan Renee Sullivan, Shane Duval Ingram, Jr. , Cristy Leah Thomas, Zachary William Ingram, Stephanie Lynn Wayne, Daniel Mark Johnson, William Glenn Weaver, Nicole Allyn Kelley, Deborah Leigh White, Christy Ann Kirby, Joshua Lynn White, James Thomas Kirby, Amber Michelle Williams, Victoria Louise Lamont, James Holly Williams, Amber Nichole Lamp, Michael Paul Wilson, Shaun Michael Laughlin, Matthew David Worf, Christopher Delano McCormick, Sierra Dawn Wriston, Brittney Jane McCoy, Kevin Wayne Yeager, Jr.