Lady Pioneers Head Coach Steve Harold Recognized in the
2007 Russell Athletic/WBCA Regional Coaches of the Year Honors

ATLANTA, Ga. - The Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) is proud to announce the 2007 Russell Athletic/WBCA Regional Coach of the Year winners for the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA), the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) and the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA).

Steve Harold, Glenville State College athletic director and head coach of the Lady Pioneers was honored in the NCAA Divsion II, Region 2 category. Harold was recently selected as WVIAC Coach of the Year for the third time. And in 2002 he was also named West Virginia Coach of the Year as well.

The Lady Pioneers recently captured the NCAA East Region, Division II Women's Basketball Championship.

They are expected to leave Monday, March 19, for Nebraska to participate in the NCAA Elite Eight National Women's Basketball Championship. The Lady Pioneers have an overall 33-2 record, a mark no other women's team has achieved in the history of the conference. The team ended the season ranked second in the nation in the USA Today / ESPN poll among Division II teams, and for several weeks held the number one spot in the NCAA East Region polls. Those ranking represent the highest ever experienced by any previous WVIAC team.

This marks the second trip Harold has made to the Elite Eight Championship, during his 12 years of coaching at Glenville State College. His 2002 team captured the East Region Championship as well.

Other NCAA Division II coaches honored are: Karen Haag, College of Saint Rose, Region 1; Dean Walsh, Carson- Newman College, Region 3; Lynn Plett, Lewis University, Region 4; Karl Smesko, Florida Gulf Coast University, Region 5; Josh Keister, Missouri Western State, Region 6; and Dave Krauth, Augustana College, Region 7.

A total of 36 coaches were honored nationally in NCAA Division I, NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III, NAIA, and JC/CC.

The winners are selected through a two-level process. The first level is by region, in which coaches from each WBCA geographical region vote for their respective top coach. If a coach has been selected as Regional Coach of the Year, they advance as a finalist to the national level of the selection process along with the other Regional Coaches of the Year in their respective division. The number of coaches varies depending on affiliation.

NCAA Division III Final Four coaches are eligible to be considered for the Russell Athletic/WBCA National Coach of the Year even if they are not named the coach of the year for their respective region.

The winners of the WBCA National Coach of the Year for each division will be honored on Monday, April 2, 2007, at 12:00 p.m. (ET) during the Russell Athletic/WBCA Coach of the Year Luncheon /presented by AstraZeneca/in the Crowne Plaza's Grand Ballroom. The luncheon is part of the 2007 WBCA National Convention, held in conjunction with the NCAA® Women's Final Four®.

Founded in 1981, the WBCA promotes women's basketball by unifying coaches at all levels to develop a reputable identity for the sport and to foster and promote the development of the game in all of its aspects as a sport for women and girls. For more information about the WBCA, please visit