Bronson Hickman won Second Place in The Southeast Regional School Bus Safety Road-e-o, hosted this year by Hoover City Schools in Alabama on June 29th.

Bronson is now eligible to enter the national level competition this year and is automatically qualified for next year's Southeastern Road-e-o.

All drivers competed in the same category, driving seventy-two passenger Thomas Built School Buses.

There were fifty five bus drivers with the top ten being recognized with plaques and the top three receiving cash awards.

Bronson has been participating in school bus road-e-os for around ten years receiving second and third awards several times at local levels and tying for fourth place one year at state level, qualifying him for the national road-e-o that year. This year he took third place in the large conventional category in the local RESA-V Road-e-o at West Virginia University at Parkersburg on June 12th. and placed seventh in the West Virginia State Road-e-o at John Marshall High School in Marshall County on June 17th.

He and his wife, Alice have traveled to Kentucky, Alabama, Florida and in West Virginia for the annual Southeast Regional Road-e-o, several times over the years.

Following the southeastern event, IC International Trucks and Buses sponsored a luncheon for all contestants, judges, volunteers workers and family members present. Thomas Built Bodies presented pins for all drivers.

Annual Bus Road-e-os are designed to motivate reinforcement of learning and implementation of good practices involved in superior job performance as a school bus driver, to recognize excellence and provide for demonstration of the skills and responsibilities involved in the job of a school bus driver and to encourage communication between drivers to share awareness and experience.

The Southeast Regional School Bus Safety Road-e-o is comprised of the fourteen states of Ohio, Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Kentucky, Virginia, North Carolina, Tennessee, Arkansas, Mississippi, Louisiana, Alabama, Georgia, South Carolina and Florida.

Contestants must have completed the school year without a preventable accident and must have been one of the top five in the previous year's Southeastern Regional Road-e-o.