PUBLIC OFFICE FILING BEGINS - Twelve Candidates Have Pre-Announced

Filing for elected county offices will begin today, according to Calhoun Circuit Clerk Shelia Garretson (pictured left) The clerk said the filing period is until January 31. "Candidates for House of Delegates or State Senate must file with the Secretary of State's office," she said.

"The filing packets are ready," said Garretson, who will answer filing questions at 354-6910.

Several county residents have pre-announced their intentions of filing for public office, including Jason Nettles (Democrat) and Gaylen Duskey (Republican) for assessor; Matthew Minney (Democrat) for prosecutor; Richard Kirby (Democrat) for county clerk; Carl Ballengee (Democrat) and Jeff Smith (Democrat) for sheriff; Shelia Garretson (Democrat) and Larry Robinson (Democrat) for circuit clerk; Teresa Robinson (Democrat) and Rick Postalwait (Democrat) for magistrate; Bob Weaver (Democrat) for county commission and Delegate Bill Stemple (Democrat) for House of Delegates.

Two school board members are to be elected, with only two board members from each district allowed to serve. Two candidates will be eligible to be elected from Sherman and Washington District this cycle. One candidate can be elected from Sheridan, Lee and Center Districts.

Only Sheridan, Lee or Washington District citizens can file for the open position for county commissioner.

Garretson said the deadline for filing will be January 31.

Prosecutor ($38,500) filing fee $385

County Clerk ($35,200) filing fee $352

Circuit Clerk ($35,200) filing fee $352

Sheriff ($31,900) filing fee $319

Magistrate ($33,625) filing fee $336.

County Commission $(16,500) filing fee $165

School Board (two positions) filing fee $25

Surveyor - filing fee $10