By Bob Weaver

A Wirt-Calhoun group of appointed representatives will meet tonight at the Calhoun courthouse to move forward with a joint venture that could help both counties. The incentive for two-county economic development is the availability of twice the funding. The eight appointed members of the Little Kanawha Area Development Group will elect officers at the organizational meeting.

After a get acquainted session, it is expected there will be initial discussions on how the group can apply to the Certified Development Community Program and the Local Economic Development Program.

The Calhoun Commission recently appointed Dan McDonald, Jim Morford, Danny Law and Donnie Pitts.

The Wirt Commission appointed Brian Sims, Phil Shears, Alvin Engelke and Dave Cox.

The commission presidents of each county and the mayors of Elizabeth and Grantsville are ex-officio members.

Hur Herald from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob and Dianne Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021