A Senior Appreciation Ceremony was held at Calhoun-Gilmer Career Center on May 9. A reception with cake and punch was held for the 2019 seniors, post graduates, high school equivalency graduates and their guests, prior to the awards program. The Coyote Beautiful Bistro Simulated Workplace prepared the refreshments.

Bryan Sterns, director of the Calhoun-Gilmer Career Center welcomed seniors and their guests. Abby Starcher, CGCC SkillsUSA Chapter AM Vice President led the Pledge of Allegiance. Faculty Senate President and Welding instructor, Carl Collins introduced the faculty members and their students.

Faculty members along with Dr. Kathleen McNally, Tech Centers That Work, mentor of the Southern Regional Education Board presented students with Tech Prep Honor Cords and CGCC souvenirs.

Zaylah Taylor (L) and Adult Education
instructor Kari Hamric holding Zarina

Kari Hamric, Adult Education instructor, presented her 2019 high school equivalency graduates: Hannah Sanders, Zaylah Taylor and Michael Westfall. Ms. Hamric announced the Adult Education Student of the Year was Zaylah Taylor, who worked diligently to attain her diploma before her daughter Zarina’s arrival.

Faithful and perfect attendance certificates were presented by Shirley Hupp, and Administrative Council Member Horst Motz. The following seniors were recognized for missing 5 or less days at the Career Center during the 2018-19 school year: Matthew Chase, Shelby Clawson, Jabowa Dennis, Madison Gerlach, Colten Miller, Madison Mohr, Brandon Pyles, Kaylene Snyder and Dakota Wilfong. Autumn Frymier of the Riverside Healthcare Simulated Workplace received a perfect attendance certificate and a $100 check sponsored by the CGCC administration.

Shannon Carnes of Peirpont Community & Technical College awarded a $1000 scholarship to Kayla Ware of the Calhoun Gilmer Innovations Simulated Workplace.

Matt Hahn of WV Junior College awarded a $1000 early entrance scholarship to Candace Bree Schoolcraft (above) of the Calhoun Gilmer Security, Inc. Simulated Workplace.

Shirley Hupp, National Technical Honor Society advisor, and Administrative Council Member David Ramezan inducted the following students into NTHS: Matthew Chase, Ryan Little, Colten Miller, Madison Mohr, Bryson Montgomery, Nakia Phillips, Zane Vineyard, Kayla Ware, and Dakota Wilfong (see above). New inductees were presented with their honor cords, tassels, pins and diploma seals. Also they received a packet with a certificate, letter of recommendation and scholarship information. Returning members were also recognized and they were: Hannah Grove, Benjamin Knotts, Daydra Page, and Kaylene Snyder.

Mr. Sterns then introduced a video from Dr. Kathy D’Antoni, Assistant State Superintendent of WV Schools. She congratulated those WV CTE students who received the WV Governor’s Workforce Credential. This is a very prestigious award for students attaining rigorous goals in the CTE program. This year Kaylene Snyder earned this credential.

The Ronald Blankenship Community Service Awards are given to those students for their exemplary service to their community and school. Bryan Sterns, Shirley Hupp, Kelli Whytsell, Calhoun County Schools Superintendent and Patricia Lowther, Gilmer County Schools Superintendent presented certificates of achievement to the following students: Matthew Chase, Shelby Clawson, Allison Conrad, Gracie Cooper, Logan Greenlief, Dalton Hardman, Faith Hardman, Erica Heiney, Chris Kirkland, Benjamin Knotts, Alexis Little, Ryan Little, Colten Miller, Bryson Montgomery, Shawn Parsons, Cassie Raulston, Ashley Rush, Bree Schoolcraft, Lance Smith, Kaylene Snyder, Abby Starcher, Lilyanna Torres, Kayla Ware, and Dakota Wilfong.

Mr. and Mrs. Patrick Bell of Big Bend with the assistance of Mrs. Hupp presented the Lenore Gherke Warner Memorial Scholarship of a $500 award to Haley Nicole Murphy (see above). Haley is a senior at CCMHS and is the daughter of Tony and Jennifer Starcher of Mt. Zion and plans to continue her career in healthcare at WVU at Parkersburg in the fall.

Mr. and Mrs. Mike Whipkey of Arnoldsburg (above) with the assistance of Mr. James Snyder, automotive technology instructor, presented the Micheal P. Whipkey, II Memorial Automotive Scholarship of a $250 Craftsman gift card for a tool set and certificate to Lilyanna Rose Torres. Lily is a senior at CCMHS and the daughter of Dyer and Crystal Frame of Grantsville.

The CGCC SkillsUSA Chapter sponsors a scholarship in the memory of JR Short. (above) Mr. and Mrs. George Short assisted Mr. Carl Collins in presenting this year’s JR Short Memorial Scholarship worth up to $1000 to Kaylene Marie Snyder. Kaylene is the daughter of Jim and Kris Snyder of Cedar Creek.

Mrs. Cain (far left) Sue Oshoway,
Faith Erin Hardman, John Oshoway

Faith Erin Hardman received the Melissa Gayle Oshoway Memorial Criminal Justice Scholarship for $1000. This scholarship was presented by Mr. and Mrs. John Oshoway and Mrs. Patty Cain. Faith is a senior at GCHS and the daughter Mandy Waint of Sand Fork and Jeff Hardman of Smithville.

Outstanding CTE Students were announced and given a certificate of achievement and $100 award. Bryan Sterns, Dr. Kathleen McNally, Kelli Whytsell and Patricia Lowther presented the awards (above) to Matthew Andrew Chase of CGCC Weld Fab, Faith Erin Hardman of Calhoun Gilmer Security, Inc., Bryson Brooks Montgomery of Calhoun Gilmer Construction, Abby Nicole Starcher of Coyote Beautiful Bistro, Lilyanna Rose Torres of Busted Knuckle Garage, and Dakota Lee Wilfong of Nebula Tech.

Earl J. Gainer Career and Technical Student of
the Year Award Patricia Lowther, Kelli Whytsell,
Kaylene Snyder, Mark Gainer, Bryan Sterns

The Earl J. “Tex” Gainer Career and Technical Education Student of the Year Award was established in 1990 to pay tribute to Mr. Gainer and to honor the student who best exemplifies career and technical excellence. In selecting the recipient of this honor, the committee attempts to award an individual who demonstrates the same outstanding qualities possessed and utilized by Mr. Gainer. CGCC Director Bryan Sterns, Mr. Mark Gainer, son of Tex Gainer, Superintendents Kelli Whytsell and Patricia Lowther presented a certificate, commemorative clock, and $500 scholarship to Kaylene Marie Snyder. She is a graduating senior from Gilmer County High School with a 4.2 GPA.

While attending CGCC, Kaylene successfully completed two years in the Riverside Healthcare Simulated Workplace. This year she has completed the phlebotomy program and is eligible to the National Healthcare Associated Phlebotomy Technician Certification Test. Kaylene participated in the state SkillsUSA competition the past two years, placing 7th in the state in Medical Terminology. Kaylene is a member of NTHS, certified in OSHA 10, obtained the state Direct Care Worker Certification, and received the WV Governor’s Workforce Credential. Kaylene will be attending the University of Charleston in the fall pursuing a bachelor of science in nursing.

Hur Herald from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob and Dianne Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021