(04/02/2019)
The WV Legislature passed a landmark free 2-year college-technical school bill for Mountain State students.

The new bill does not guarantee free tuition – it simply adds a state program to provide “last dollar in” to students seeking an Associate Degree in yet to be named areas.

Students must apply for all other aid 1st – complete the FAFSA on or before 4/15/19 so their eligibility for Federal and WV State Grants can be determined.

Then, the new program will pay the difference between the average cost of tuition and fees at the community colleges less all other state and federal grants.

It does not cover the cost of books, supplies, equipment, or above average tuition or fees.

Students must submit drug test results each semester, and the student must pay for these tests.

If a student already has an Associate Degree, they would not qualify.

The program regulations are not yet in place, but these are the guidelines offered by WV HEPC right now.

3/28/2018 - It is likely the most formidable piece of legislation passed by the West Virginia Legislature last session, now signed into law.

In a state with among the fewest college graduates in the USA, students can now go to a community or technical college free.

Calhoun County has had among the fewest students going to college.

It is a bill authorizing tuition grants to residents who are at least 18 years old and have completed a secondary program.

Grantees would have to pass a drug test each semester, maintain a 2.0 grade-point average, take at least six credit hours per semester and perform at least eight hours of community service.

Recipients would have to repay grants if they don't live in West Virginia for two years after getting their degree.

Grants would be limited to courses of study that "satisfy a workforce need as determined by the Department of Commerce."

At least 17 other states offer similar programs.

The measure goes into effect June 5.


Hur Herald from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob and Dianne Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021