By Gaylen Duskey


Last Friday night top-ranked Class A South Harrison marched into rain soaked Mount Zion to play one-win Calhoun County.

The results were as expected as the Hawks rolled up 36 first half points against the youthful Red Devils en route to a 36-0 victory. South Harrison's defense was superb as it held Calhoun, 1-5, to 40 yards and one first down. Nick Murphy led Calhoun with 10 yards rushing while Noah Allen added nine.

The Hawks' offense was excellent too as it scored four touchdowns. The Hawks also had a defensive touchdown from Freddie Canary with a 40 yard pass interception.

Canary also scored on runs of 44 and 40 yards as he rushed for 135 yards on 10 carries. Camden Barnette had 115 yards rushing on 18 carries for the Hawks, 5-0.

South Harrison's other touchdown came in the first quarter when Nathaniel Wright hit Brenton Barnette with a 12-yard pass.

About the only mistake the Hawks made was leaving the starters on the field too long as Canary suffered a leg injury and had to be helped off the field. Otherwise most of the first team defense played tot entire game to ensure the shutout.

The Red Devils did surprisingly well in the early going as it stopped South Harrison's first offensive thrust.

After that Calhoun got a first down against the bigger and more mature Hawks and would have had a second first down in South Harrison territory when it completed a 17-yard pass that was fumbled away to the Hawks.

After that the Hawks showed their dominance.

Calhoun returns to action Friday night when the travel to St. Marys to play the third-ranked and unbeaten Blue Devils. South Harrison is home to Tygart's Valley.

Hur Herald from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob and Dianne Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020