(L-R) WVPA President Jim McGoldrick, Publisher David
Hedges, Circulation Director Starr Hedges, Sales Manager
Annie Hedges, Junior Publisher Foster Hedges, Production
Manager Andrew Hedges, Graphics Artist Cathy Springston

MORGANTOWN, W.Va. — For the second year in a row, The Times Record & Roane County Reporter has earned the West Virginia Press Association's top honor: Newspaper of the Year.

The Spencer, W.Va., newspaper excelled in the advertising division earning first place in General Excellence in the West Virginia Press Association's Advertising Competition. The newspaper also finished second place in the editorial competition. It's combined high overall score in the two contests earned the 2016 Newspaper of the Year title.

The honor was announced Saturday during the West Virginia Press Association's 2016 Convention at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa in Morgantown.

The Times Record & Roane County Reporter is the only weekly newspaper to have ever won the Newspaper of the Year award.

"It's an incredible achievement to win this award. To win it in back-to-back years is even more impressive," said Don Smith, executive director of the WVPA. "For a weekly newspaper to win this award shows a real commitment to excellence from David Hedges and the staff. Their work each week to provide in-depth and accurate information to the community contributes to The Times Record & Roane County Reporter's history of excellence."

Many of the Times Record & Roane County Reporter employees were on hand at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa on Aug. 6 to hear the announcement at the close of the WVPA's three-day summer convention.

"This award is also a testament to the talent of the staff and their dedication to the people of Roane County," Smith said. "As I stated last year, this is an excellent representation of the newspaper industry in West Virginia."

The Newspaper of the Year honor was awarded based on the paper's performance in the advertising and editorial contests. The distinction is given to the state newspaper that earns the most cumulative points in the WVPA's Better Newspaper Contest for advertising and editorial divisions, regardless of size or circulation. To win the divisions, newspapers across the state compete in four circulation groups, two each for daily and weekly newspapers in both contests.

Hur Herald from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob and Dianne Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021