The Calhoun Commission certified the election results of the May 10 primary Tuesday, following approval timing by the WV Secretary of State's office.

Sheriff candidate Andy Walker (D) did not request a county-wide recount, losing by 32 votes to Jeff Starcher (D), who will be facing Republican Eugene Stevens in the General Election this fall.

Facing off for county commissioner in the General Election will be three candidates, Michael Hicks (D), chairman of the county Democrat party, Wayne Hardway (I), retired county school teacher and business administrator Anita West (R).

County Clerk Jean Simers said problems with a few voting machines were corrected election day, saying that the clerk's office expects to have all machines operable for the General Election.

Counties are expected to come up with funding for replacement of the aging computers.

The county obtained services from election specialists Casto and Harris, with the canvas being completed by officials from the WV Secretary of States office, representatives of political parties and County Clerk workers.

Calhoun's precinct-by-precinct votes from the Primary Election, May 10, 2016:

Precinct 1: Brooksville Baptist Church

Precinct 4: Grantsville/Little Courtroom Courthouse

Precinct 5/8: Big Springs, Pleasant Hill-Pleasant Hill School

Precinct 6: Grantsville Corporation-Sr. Center

Precinct 7: Mt. Zion/Russett-Grantsville VFD

Precinct 10: Arnoldsburg-Arnoldsburg School

Precinct 11: Hur/Daniels Run - CMHS

Precinct 15/19: Orma/Minnora- Upper West Fork Park

SEE RESULTS Calhoun Co. Primary Election Results by Precinct

Hur Herald from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob and Dianne Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021