National Technical Honor Society Induction (Front L-R)
Advisor Shirley Hupp, Andrea Frymier, Tea Boatright,
Jordyn Gregory, Ayla Young, Kassy Hickman; (Back L-R)
Chris Thornton, Skylar Summers, Alayna Butler, Austin
Blystone, Samantha Young, Makahla Morris, Jacob Frashure

(L) Adult Education Graduates (L-R) Instructor Linda Jones, Matthew McCumbers, Alec Richards; (R) Calhoun-Gilmer Career Center $100 Scholarship Award (L-R) Bryan Sterns, Alayna Butler, Lisa Moore

Submitted by Kris Phares Snyder
Calhoun-Gilmer Career Center

A Senior Appreciation Ceremony was held at Calhoun-Gilmer Career Center on May 12, 2016 at 1:00 p.m. A reception with cake and punch was held for the 2016 seniors, post graduates, high school equivalency graduates and their guests, prior to the awards program.

The Culinary Arts/ProStart program prepared the refreshments and the Networking Technologies along with Law & Public Safety students prepared a multimedia show for the reception. The theme for this year was "Humble and Kind".

Bryan Sterns, director of the Calhoun-Gilmer Career Center welcomed seniors and their guests. Jordyn Gregory, FBLA secretary, led the Pledge of Allegiance. Faculty Senate President and Welding instructor, Carl Collins introduced the faculty members and their students. Faculty members along with Brittany Stout of Pierpont Community & Technical College presented students with Tech Prep Honor Cords and CGCC souvenirs.

Linda Jones, Adult Education instructor, presented her 2016 high school equivalency graduates: Tina Davis, Matthew McCumbers, Alec Richards and Jessica Stump. Mrs. Jones announced the Adult Education Student of the Year was Matthew McCumbers.

Shirley Hupp, National Technical Honor Society advisor, and Administrative Council Member Dr. Carl Armour inducted the following students into NTHS: Karissa Bill, Austin Blystone, Tea Boatright, Alayna Butler, Andrea Frymier, Jordyn Gregory, Analysse Petty, Chris Thornton, Alya Young and Samantha Young. New inductees were presented with their honor cords, tassels, pins and diploma seals. Also they received a packet with a certificate, letter of recommendation and scholarship information. Returning members were also recognized and they were: Jacob Frashure, Kassy Hickman, Makahla Morris, Ethan Settle and Skylar Summers.

Pierpont Community & Technical College $1000 Scholarship
(L-R) Brittany Stout, Cassi Dobbins, Shirley Hupp

Ronald Blankenship Academic Achievement Awards (Front L-R) Timothy Woodward, Amber Prusack, Jordyn Gregory, Jayden Cantu, Austin Blystone, Baylee Swisher, Alexis Loudin, Isaac Sprouse, Erin Ramsey, Michael Garcia, Malachi McCumbers, Destiny RIccota, Dylan Snider, Mitchell McKown, Maranda King, Bryan Sterns

Faithful and perfect attendance certificates were presented by Bryan Sterns, and Gilmer County High School Principal Nasia Butcher. The following students missed 5 or less days at the Career Center during the 2015-16 school year: Tea Boatright, Austin Blystone, Christian Hash, Haley Knotts, Maranda King, Malachi McCumbers, Makahla Morris, Analysse Petty, Brody Springer, James Stump, Isaac Sprouse, Doug Wood and Jessica Smith. Michael Garcia and Alex White both received a perfect attendance certificate.

The Ronald Blankenship Academic Achievement Awards are given to those students achieving platinum level on the WIN Career Readiness System. Bryan Sterns and Calhoun County Schools Superintendent Timothy Woodward presented certificates of achievement to the following students: Austin Blystone, Jayden Cantu, Thomas Eakle, Aubrey Freeby, Michael Garcia, Jordyn Gregory, Christian Hash, Maranda King, Brooklyn Knicely, Alexis Loudin, Malachi McCumbers, Mitchell McKown, Makahla Morris, Dakota Moss, Dylan Neal, Adrea Peggs, Analysse Petty, Amber Prusack, Erin Ramsey, Destiny Riccota, Alec Richards, Dylan Snider, Isaac Sprouse, Dustin Stump and Baylee Swisher.

The 886 Foundation, Chapter 4 of Grantsville sponsored a $500 scholarship this year for a Calhoun County senior completing the Health Occupations or Law & Public Safety program. This year's recipient was Mitchell McKown, a two-completer of the Law & Public Safety program. 886 Foundation members Gary Knight, Graham Knight, Kayla and Lucas Morford presented the scholarship.

Mr. Mike Whipkey with the assistance of Mr. James Snyder, automotive technology instructor, presented the Micheal P. Whipkey, II Memorial Automotive Scholarship of a $250 Craftsman gift card for a tool set and certificate to Doug Allen Wood. Doug is the son of Doug and Kaira Wood of Normantown, WV.

886 Foundation $500 Scholarship L-R) Gary Knight,
Mitchell McKown, Kayla & Lucas Morford, Graham Knight

(L) Micheal P. Whipkey, II Memorial Automotive Scholarship (L-R) Jim Snyder, Mike Whipkey, Doug Wood; (R) Earl J. Gainer Career and Technical Student of the Year Award Bryan Sterns, Analysse Petty

Christian Kenneth Hash received the Melissa Gayle Oshoway Memorial Criminal Justice Scholarship for $1000. This scholarship was presented by Mr. and Mrs. John Oshoway, Mr. Rue Brannon, and Mrs. Patty Cain. Christian is the grandson of Timothy and Mary Templon of Grantsville, WV.

Each year the Career Center presents a $100 scholarship award to graduating students who plan to pursue a career in their field of study or continue their studies. Bryan Sterns and CGCC Secretary, Lisa Moore recognized this year's recipient: Alayna Brooke Butler. Alayna is the daughter of Kim Butler of Glenville, WV. She has completed the patient care technician program in Health Occupations. Alayna plans to attend West Virginia University at Parkersburg and earn an Associate's Degree in Nursing.

Brittany Stout of Peirpont Community & Technical College awarded a $1000 scholarship to Cassi Marie Dobbins for studies in nursing. Cassi is the daughter of Melinda Lamb of Grantsville, WV. Outstanding CTE Students were announced and given a $100 award. They were Phillip Michael Garcia, Automotive Technology; Tea Shae Boatright, Business Technology: Christopher Lee Thornton, Carpentry; Alexander Michael White, Networking Technologies; and postgraduate student, Jacob Travis Frashure, Networking Technologies. Also, Jacob was recognized for receiving a gold medal at the WV SkillsUSA Competition in Kingwood, WV in April. He will be traveling to Louisville, KY to compete in the National SkillsUSA Competition this June.

The Earl J. Gainer Career and Technical Education Student of the Year Award was established in 1990 to pay tribute to Mr. Gainer and to honor the student who best exemplifies career and technical excellence. In selecting the recipient of this honor, the committee attempts to award an individual who demonstrates the same outstanding qualities possessed and utilized by Mr. Gainer.

CGCC Director Bryan Sterns presented a certificate, commemorative clock, and $500 scholarship to Analysse Nikole Petty. Annie is the niece of Danielle Cottrill of Normantown, WV. She is a graduating senior from Gilmer County High School. While attending CGCC, Annie successfully completed the patient care technician program in Health Occupations, the ProStart/Culinary Arts program, and the Option Pathway program. Annie's honors include: 4th place at WV SkillsUSA Competition in commercial baking and 1st place in the student division of the Blennerhassett Gingerbread House Contest. Annie plans to pursue her nursing career while in the US Navy.

Hur Herald from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob and Dianne Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021