More candidates have filed as write-ins for the Division 2 magistrates seat, currently held by magistrate Lora Davis. The deadline for write-in filing was this week.

The unexpired term is from the May Primary to December 31.

Lora Davis, current magistrate, in addition, Jim Hughes of Millstone, Ryan Underwood of Grantsville, Charles "Charlie" Haverty and Tom Ullum have filed for the unexpired magistrate short term.

Tom Ullum has filed for the short term only.

Haverty has also filed as a write-in candidate for the full term in Division 2.

Changes in how magistrates run and are elected for public office has become complicated, even more complicating is the magistrates unexpired seat held by local magistrate Lora Davis.

Davis was appointed to fill the vacancy left by magistrate Teresa Carpenter in July 2015 until the next election cycle, which is the Primary Election on May 10.

Following recent changes made by the WV Legislature, Davis and any other citizen wishing to serve the unexpired term may file for the unexpired term which ends December 31, 2016.

Apparently if Davis would be defeated in the write-in campaign for the approximately 8 months left of the unexpired term, she would have to step-down from the post until the actual winner for the position takes office January 1, 2017.

A newly elected write-in candidate would then have to take training for the short period.

Again, Lora Davis, Ryan Underwood and Jim Hughes are competing for the regular position on the primary ballot, in addition to write-in candidate Haverty.

Historically, voters tend not to do write-in votes, particularly with electronic balloting.

Hur Herald from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob and Dianne Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020