(03/02/2016)
West Virginia's spring forest fire season has started with limits on outside burning now in effect.

The season began Tuesday and runs through May 31. Burning also is limited to brush, leaves, yard clippings and other vegetative materials.

The West Virginia Division of Forestry says residents could faces fines if a fire they started escapes and causes a wildfire or forest fire. Fines range from $100 to $1,000.

State law requires a safety strip or ring at least 10 feet wide around outdoor fires to prevent them from spreading into woods.


Hur Herald ©from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be not be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online ©Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019