By Gaylen Duskey

Calhoun snapped a four-game losing streak Tuesday night posting a 49-37 victory over the South Harrison Hawks at Mount Zion.

Dylan Heiney and Zack Yanero led the Red Devils, 6-7, with 18 and 14 respectively.

Calhoun once again started slowly and were behind 12-5 at the end of the first quarter but that's when the Red Devils increased the intensity on defense and roared from behind by holding the Hawks to one point while scoring 15 for a 22-13 halftime lead and South Harrison would never catch up.

The Red Devils moved the lead out to double figures after halftime and kept it there until late in the fourth quarter as the Hawks, 2-10, hit on 10 points from the free throw line.

Heiney and Yanero were backed by Ethyn Miller with six, Ben Frederick with five, Austin Gribble four and Dakota Jarvis with two. Caden Hicks, Nick Murphy, Trevor Carder and Sonny Wilson all played but did not score.

Yanero led the Red Devils with 11 rebounds while Miller led the way with four assists and three steals.

South Harrison had one player in double figures as Logan Peck scored 13, including three three-point goals in the first quarter. The Red Devils also won the junior varsity game 45-34 for their second straight win.

Carder led the way with 16 while Wilson added 13. They were backed by Frederick with seven, David Marks with four, Murphy with three and Hicks with two. John Long, Levi Gregory, Noah Allen and Hayden Richards all played but did not score. Carder and Murphy led the team with seven rebounds each. Carder also had two assists and two steals.

Calhoun returns to action tonight at Wirt County while South Harrison is at Doddridge tonight.

Hur Herald from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob and Dianne Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021