UPDATE 2/1/2016 - Calhoun Clerk Jean Simers said one late filing by mail was received Monday to her office.

Orma resident Larry Cottrell (D), a former county commissioner, has filed against incumbent Assessor Jason Nettles (D).

Clerk Simers said some Saturday filings by mail have not been received by the clerk's office until Tuesday.

UPDATE 1/29/2016 - Five last minute candidates filed for public office Friday, according to Calhoun Clerk Jean Simers, although candidates can mail applications if they are postmarked Saturday.

- Non-partisan, Kevin Cunningham of Mt. Zion and Horst Motz, of Big Springs, for Board of Education.

- Eugene Stevens (Republican) filed for Sheriff.

- Anita West (Republican) of Millstone filed for County Commissioner.

- Ryan Underwood (non-partisan) of Grantsville for Magistrate, a seat currently held by Laura Davis (Division II).

ORIGINAL STORY 1/27/2016 - Amanda "Mandee" Richards of Big Springs, a graduate of Calhoun County High School 1994 and former Deputy Circuit Clerk for approximately 7 years, has filed for Circuit Clerk, opposing incumbent Shelia Garretson. Both are Democrats.

Pat Bell of Big Springs filed for an open non-partisan Board of Education seat, with Jim Gregory of Arnoldsburg already filing for the other opening. So far they have no opposition.

With the filing deadline Saturday, four have filed for Calhoun Sheriff.

Longtime Calhoun Home Confinement and law enforcement officer, Grantsville resident Bob Groves has filed.

Former Grantsville Police Chief, WVDOT officer, and chief deputy sheriff Jeff Starcher of Orma has filed.

Also filing, Calhoun Middle-High School teacher and former WV National Guard member Brandi Richards, and Andy Walker, the Grantsville Police Chief and prior law enforcement officer.

All are Democrats.

Incumbents Rick Postalwait of Five Forks and Laura Davis of Grantsville have filed for non-partisan magistrate, with Jim Hughes of Mt. Zion filing against Davis.

Three filed for Calhoun County Commissioner, all Democrats, for a seat currently held by incumbent Bob Weaver.

Michael Hicks of Daniels Run, Calhoun Democrat Chairman and currently graduating from college, has filed.

Also filing Melissa Falls of Millstone, a tax deputy in the office of Sheriff Carl Ballengee.

Commission president Bob Weaver has filed for re-election for what he says is a final term.

Wayne "Pokey" Hardway, a retired Calhoun teacher and current employee of the WV Department of Health and Human Services in Grantsville, has indicated he will be running for commissioner this fall as an Independent candidate.

Incumbents filing, Jason Nettles, assessor; Jean Simers, county clerk and Shannon Johnson, prosecuting attorney.

Hur Herald from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob and Dianne Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020