WVU has been losing their status as the nations #1 party school.

Never mind the ranking.

Following West Virginia University's upset over #4 ranked Baylor, Morgantown police escalated the aftergame events to rioting, using pepper spray and tear gas after crowds of students pushed over street lights on High Street and destroyed fencing around construction sites.

Chief Ed Preston, of the Morgantown Police Department, said "As a result of the dangerous behavior the events were declared riots. The crowds failed to disperse after numerous warnings resulting in the use of pepper spray and chemical munitions."

"The use of the chemical munitions resulted in the dispersal of the various groups of rioters without any serious injuries."

The Morgantown Fire Department responded to 42 fires throughout the night, with damages from rock throwing to fire trucks.

Preston said that people were throwing "rocks, beer bottles and other blunt objects" at both police and vehicles.

WVU President Gordon Gee said that the rioting was "criminal and will be dealt with as such."

"This is not acceptable Mountaineer behavior. It is not 'partying' to set fires, tear down fences or throw bottles at police," Gee said. "It is time this university, together with our students, embody and exhibit a code of conduct that makes Mountaineers everywhere proud."

The university's statement said that both WVU and law enforcement officials are reviewing videotapes and social media posts from Saturday night and more arrests will be made.

President Gee said the crowd represents a small minority of WVU students.

Hur Herald ©from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be not be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online ©Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019