Calhoun County Schools held the Annual Academic Awards Ceremony Thursday at Calhoun Middle-High School.

Several students from Calhoun High and Middle Schools, as well as Arnoldsburg and Pleasant Hill Elementary Schools earned awards for the 2013-2014 school year.

High Honor Graduates - Autumn Blair, Amanda Carter, Jared Fitzwater, Chelsea Hicks, Kelsey Jett, Cassandra Lamont, Danielle Richards, and Nicholas Smith.

Honor Graduates - Kayla Church, Autumn Jones, Candice Conrad, Courtney Lewis, Kenneth Dawson, Brooklyn Smith, and Holly Wilson.

President's Award for Educational Excellence - Kelsey Jett, Nicholas Smith, and Danielle Richards.

WSAZ "Best of Class" - Kelsey Jett.

Top of the Mountain Award - Kelsey Jett.

National Career Readiness WorkKeys (Gold) Kelsey Jett and Nicholas Smith; (Silver) Bailie Cain, Candice Conrad, Jared Fitzwater, Autumn Jones, Logan McKown, Rebbicca Newlon, Autumn Smith, and Cody Starcher.

Moving Onward And Upward MOU Internship - Megan Barton, Hannah Burris, Kayla Church, and Cassandra Lamont.

Governor's Honors Academy - Nathaniel Hipp, and Jarrett Nicholas.

WESTEST 2 - Pleasant Hill School Hannah Muniz.

Boy's State - Jarrett Nicholas.

Hugh O'Brien Youth Leadership - Mckayla Phillips.

Golden Horseshoe - Caroline McCumbers, and Robert Twist IV.

Young Writers County Winners - (Grades 1-2) Bryant Yoak; (Grades 3-4) Abigail White.

Science Fair - County Winners - First Place Anna Walker, second Wyatt Gainer and Daniel Nary, third Hannah Johnson.

National History Day High School - Group Award - First Place Makensy Bailey and Brandy Dobbins.

National History Day Individual Award - Middle School - Kelcie Wilson (State Honorable Mention).

National History Day Middle School - Group Award - First Place Shelby Clawson, Torrence Carpenter, Tiffany Harding, Jenna Milliron, Erika Newell; Second Place Megan Harding, Darla Harrison, Alicia Mills; Harding, Harrison and Mills were First Place State Winners; Third Place and third place State Winners David Marks, Morgan Moneypenny, Kaleb Nicholas; State Honorable Mention winners Destiney Murphy, Kaitlyn Toney, Destiny Wager, Shaylah Wilson.

Social Studies Fair Grades 3-5 First Place Winners - Economics Anna Walker, Geography Jesse Allen Second Place Regionals, Pyschology Dylan Sampson Third Place Regionals, Political Science Josie Montgomery Third Place Regionals, Sociology Makayla Jones Honorable Mention Regionals, State & Local Tysa James, U. S. History Lacy Hicks Honorable Mention Regionals, World History Mason Siwicki Second Place State Winner.

Social Studies Fair Grades 6-8 First Place Winners Small Group - Economics Dakota Snider Honorable Mention Regionals, Geography Kayla Carper Third Place Regionals, State & Local Trenten Cunningham Honorable Mention Regionals, U. S. History Donna Richards, Anthropology Claire Boggs and Cassidy Conley Second Place Regionals, State & Local Torrence Carpenter and Shelby Clawson Second Place Regionals, U. S. History Madison Dennis and Alexa Lawson Second Place Regionals, World History Kole Jarvis and Micheal Murphy Second Place Regionals.

Math Field Day - Megan Barton, Tiffany Brannon, Aleah Dye, Christopher Goad, Nathaniel Hipp, Kelsey Jett, Autumn Jones, Anna Knotts, Mckayla Phillips, Nicholas Smith.

Math Field Day - (Grade 4) First Place Hayden Bennett, second Drue Goad, third Chase Blair; (Grade 5) First Place Hailey Metz, second Mycheal Edgell, third Will Spigner; (Grade 6) First Place Corey Nicholson, second Jordan Ferrell, third Tiffany Harding, Participating Alternate Ryan Twist; (Grade 7) First Place Nolan Nelson, second Jimmy Parsons, third Hayden Richards, Participating Alternate Amanda Tanner; (Grade 8) First Place Kaleb Nicholas, second Robert Twist IV, third Roby Farmer; 9th Grade Team Mackenzie Seabolt, Makayla Smith, and Laura Webb.

Hur Herald ©from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be not be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online ©Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019