The Calhoun Commission acknowledged the air conditioning of the court room using grant funding, and is moving forward with much needed repairs to the courthouse roof and the installation of a chairlift to assist access to part of the building.

The commission approved Calhoun Sheriff Carl Ballengee's request to create a Chief Deputy position in his office allowing the hiring of deputy Randy Holcomb for a period of 120 days, provided the deputy did not take a cruiser out of the county.

OES/911 Director Kathy Wood reported creating a new emergency alert system for county residents called Emergency Code Red which would auto-dial residents regarding a county-wide emergency, a system that also is able to e-mail and notify cell phone users to apply for the service.

Wood said new radios are being installed in the county's emergency service vehicles, part of the statewide Inter-operable Radio Program.

She also said she is working to participate in a program that allows for quicker assessment of property damage during disasters, linking with FEMA.

Approved a request from the WV of Highways to rename a section of old State Rt. 16 near Grantsville to Harris Drive.

Jim Sullivan of the Calhoun Wood Festival gave a report regarding upkeep at Wayne Underwood Field and plans for this years Wood Festival.

The commissioners renewed the appointments of Loren Howley, Hazel Lane and Jacob McCumbers to the Deputy Sheriff's Civil Service Board.

Much of the commission meeting on April 10 was devoted to hearing ambulance proposals from Calhoun County Emergency Ambulance Service and Minnie Hamilton Health System.


Hur Herald ©from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be not be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online ©Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019