By Gaylen Duskey


A slow start doomed the Calhoun Middle School team in its 45-20 loss at Braxton Thursday night.

Braxton jumped all over the Red Devils and by the time the smoke had lifted it held a 16-1 first quarter lead with the Red Devils only points coming on a Jerry Jones free throw.

After that the 0-4 Red Devils tried to play catch-up only to have the Knights pull away.

Tayton Stout led the Knights with 15 points while Drew Taylor and Ben Fincham added eight each.

For Calhoun Chris Thornton had nine points to lead the way.

Dave Jones added five, Jackson Taylor three, Zach Yanero two and Jerry Jones one. Christopher Kirkland and Sonny Wilson both played but did not score.

In the B game Calhoun also started slow en route to a 31-10 setback.

Trevor Carder's first quarter basket was Calhoun's only points as the Knights shot eight free throws on the way to claiming a 17-2 lead. During the game the Knights shot 22 free throws while Calhoun never went to the charity stripe.

Calhoun had two players foul out with one of the two being waived from the game despite the scorebook only showing him with four. The home book had the player with five and overruled the decision.

Carder led the Red Devils, 0-4, with six points while Brady Fox and Ben Fredrick added two each.

Levi Gregory, Buck Marks, Damon Westfall, Aaron West, Jaron Hall, Nolan Nelson, Jakiah Hickman, John Watkins, Ryan Milliron and Josh Schoolcraft all played but did not score.

Heath Cottrill had 10 to lead the Knights.

Calhoun returns to action Tuesday night with a home game against Geary.

Hur Herald ©from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be not be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online ©Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019