President Barack Obama has issued a disaster declaration to help 18 WV counties recover from damage caused by Superstorm Sandy.

Regional counties include Braxton and Clay.

The declaration makes federal funding available to eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit groups in the counties, along with state government.

The funding will be provided on a cost-sharing basis.

Funding for hazard mitigation measures statewide also is available on a cost-sharing basis.

Counties included in the declaration are: of Barbour, Boone, Braxton, Clay, Fayette, Kanawha, Lewis, Nicholas, Pendleton, Pocahontas, Preston, Raleigh, Randolph, Taylor, Tucker, Upshur, Webster, and Wyoming.

Hur Herald from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020