Four weeks after Superstorm Sandy hit the east coast, Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin has lifted West Virginia's state of emergency declaration in 33 counties. The declaration remains in effect for Barbour, Boone, Braxton, Clay, Fayette, Grant, Greenbrier, Kanawha, Lewis, Marshall, Nicholas, Pendleton, Pocahontas, Preston, Raleigh, Randolph, Summers, Taylor, Tucker, Upshur, Webster and Wyoming until Dec. 21.

West Virginia has been under a state of emergency since Oct. 29, when Sandy began affecting areas across the state.

The state of emergency allows Gov. Tomblin to divert additional state and federal resources to aid in cleanup and relief efforts.

Many areas are still dealing with lingering damage and debris from the storm.

Hur Herald ©from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be not be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online ©Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019