Residents in 16 WV counties who suffered financial burdens following the June 29 Derecho can apply next week for special disaster benefits, according to the WV Department of Health and Human Resources.

Roane and Clay County residents are eligible.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture recently declared residents in those counties eligible for D-SNAP benefits, or Disaster Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program benefits.

The benefits can be used to purchase food items for people who suffered financial losses in a disaster.

Residents in Boone, Cabell, Clay, Greenbrier, Jackson, Lincoln, Mason, Mercer, Mingo, Monroe, McDowell, Pocahontas, Roane, Tyler, Webster and Wood counties will be able to apply for the benefits at county DHHR offices from Nov. 26 through Dec. 2.

Hur Herald ©from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be not be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online ©Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019