A request for individual assistance for 24 WV counties has been sent in to the federal government by Governor Earl Ray Tomblin, according to Calhoun OES/911 Director Kathy Wood.

The governor issued the request Thursday to be added to his previously granted federal disaster declaration.

If granted, the assistance would aid in the ongoing recovery and repair efforts in West Virginia following the June 29 storm.

The request would provide help to individuals and businesses in the following counties: Boone, Calhoun, Doddridge, Fayette, Gilmer, Greenbrier, Jackson, Kanawha, Logan, McDowell, Mercer, Mingo, Monroe, Nicholas, Pocahontas, Putnam, Raleigh, Ritchie, Roane, Tyler, Webster, Wetzel, Wirt and Wood Counties.

As damage reports continue to be collected, more counties could be added to the request.

While information continues to be collected, initial estimates show the financial losses, emergency response and repair costs from the storm will exceed millions of dollars.

Hur Herald from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020