County officials and Masonic members gathered for the
laying of the cornerstone of Calhoun's new courthouse
(David Hathaway Photo)

By Bob Weaver

It was 79 years ago in Grantsville in 1942, that the cornerstone of the county's new courthouse was laid, with the official opening some months later.

The courthouse had been located in numerous buildings during a bitter struggle over the location of the county seat, with an official courthouse being built in Grantsville.

Built on land owned by Simon P. Stump, Grantsville's founder, the depression era WPA project was moving ahead when it was slowed by World War II.

The county notables participated in the ceremony, the cornerstone laid by Most Worshipful Grand Lodge of Masons.

The cornerstone was dedicated in 1942,
holding historical documents and artifacts

The county's first prominent courthouse was built in
Grantsville in the 1880s (Photo Courtesy of Eugene Shaffer)

The Calhoun Commission more recently received some grant money to make much needed repairs to the roof, the original flat roof repaired many times.

New windows have been installed in recent years, greatly reducing the cost of heating.

For a dozen or more years, the commission has attempted to get grant money to install an elevator to help the handicapped get up multiple flights of stairs, to little success.

Now, a chair-lift has been installed for two floors.


Courtroom has heard thousands of cases since 1942

The austere commission chambers (left) known as "the
little courtroom"; the courthouse is known for flights
of stairs, a problem that has yet to be solved


Hur Herald from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob and Dianne Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021