Calhoun County

Glenville, WV - Andrew Metheney has been awarded the Conley CPA Group, PLLC Scholarship from Glenville State College. Established in 1993, this scholarship is given each spring to an outstanding accounting student who has completed his or her junior year or equivalent at Glenville State College. The annual recipient is determined by the accounting faculty.

Metheney is a senior majoring in Business Administration with concentrations in Accounting and Management. He is the son of Richard and Susan Metheney of Grantsville.

Clay County

Clay County High School graduate Marissa Truman has been awarded two scholarships from Glenville State College for the 2012-2013 academic school year.

Truman will receive the Moyers Academic Scholarship. This academic scholarship fund was established in 1993 by Dr. L. Dewitt and Virginia Singleton Moyers. It is used to fund annual scholarships for capable but financially needy students who were born in West Virginia and are graduates of high schools within the state. Financial need along with intellectual ability and academic performance are key factors in the selection process.

Awardees are chosen primarily from Braxton, Calhoun, Clay, Gilmer, Lewis, Nicholas, Ritchie, Roane, Webster, and Wirt Counties. Truman was also awarded the John C. Shaw scholarship. This scholarship was established in 1985 by John C. Shaw, President of Glenville State College from 1901-1908. This scholarship is awarded to academically talented freshmen from West Virginia.

Truman will be a freshman majoring in Music Education. She is the daughter of Lisa Truman of Clay.

Roane County

Roane County High School graduate Cori Nicholson of Spencer has been awarded two scholarships from Glenville State College.

Nicholson will receive the Stephen S. and Carolyn Dotson Taylor Scholarship.

Established by Dr. Stephen S. and Carolyn Dotson Taylor, this endowed scholarship serves to support the development of leadership by providing assistance to those students with potential who matriculate to Glenville State College. Preference is given to candidates from Roane and Ritchie counties first, then Gilmer, Doddridge and Calhoun Counties. Academic promise and financial need as well as participation in high school, extra-curricular, community and church activities are all taken into consideration. The scholarship is renewable for four years given that the student demonstrates acceptable academic performance.

In addition, Nicholson was awarded the Claudia Kelly Hays Memorial Scholarship. Established in 1997, this scholarship was named in memory of Claudia Kelly Hays, a 1952 graduate of Glenville State College and former Roane County teacher, by her husband, Bernard R. Hays, a Calhoun County native and 1935 GSC graduate. Recipients are selected from Roane and Calhoun County High Schools.

Nicholson will be a freshman at GSC majoring in Secondary Education with a concentration in English.

For more information about Glenville State College scholarships, contact the GSC Foundation office at (304)462-6380.

For more information about Glenville State College scholarships, contact the GSC Foundation office at (304) 462-6380.

Hur Herald ©from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be not be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online ©Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019