(06/01/2012)
The cost of a marriage license in West Virginia for some couples could be increasing.

Starting June 8, couples who do not undergo four hours of premarital counseling will pay $56 (an extra $20) for a marriage license.

The Legislature enacted the measure in March.

To avoid paying the higher fee, a couple must provide a certificate showing that a class was completed.

While some advocates say the change will help reduce the divorce rate and strengthen families, others remain skeptical.

West Virginia Association of Counties Executive Director Patti Hamilton says the state hasn't provided funding for new forms that must be printed and ask about pre-marriage counseling sessions.

Essentially, another mandate.


Hur Herald ©from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be not be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online ©Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019