It's been 25 years since the first Alumni Day was held at the old Calhoun County High School in Grantsville. Since then hundreds of alumni and their families have returned to the annual event.

This years event is today at Calhoun Middle-High School.

The list shows about 200 have pre-registered for this years event, but others are expected to register at the door.

1940: Charles Duskey. Jr., Wheeler Wayne

1941: Eloise Gibson Huffman, Jeannette Marshall Stump, Ivy Von Yoak, Glen Fowler, Ralph Looney, Francis Cain

1942: Jean Kelley Miller, Eugene Stump

1943: Gerry Fowler Wallace, Murlene Hamrick Morris, Denver D. Roberts

1944: Paul G. Bailey, Leo E. Craddock, Freda Radabaugh Yoak, Berdine Knotts Wayne

1945: Grace Yoak Richards, Helen Chenoweth Hathaway

1946: James A. Bell, Helen Kight Hamilton, Calvin L. Smith, Eula Elliott

1947: Mary Roberts Craddock, Ernest Smith, Dortha Knight Starling, Marie Sturm Cheesebrew, Clarice Davis Whytsell, Clyde Boggs, David R. Chenoweth

1948: William L. Ice, Madaline Fowler Moore, Ron S. White, Donald F. Weaver, Iva Davisson Brannon, Mary Mosser Slaton, Irene Kendall Conrad

1949: Betty Riddle Edwards, Nila Francis Smith, George H. Bell, Violet Cain Williams, Jackie Gainer Rbinson, Patty Roberts Wyatt

1950: Barbara Hale Reed, Glenn Ellison, Paula McCoy Roberts, Phyllis Knight Munday, Emma Stalnake Chenoweth, Cleon Boyce

1951: Hoy C. Dobbins, Harry A. Newell, Robert E. Bush, George E. Hale, Virginia Weaver Buck, Freida Tuttle, Channon Dean Hupp

1952: Wilfred C. Dobbins, Sarah Rhodes Yeager, Marjorie Stump Gherke, Charles L. Morrison, Leona James Yoak, Mavis Siers Hoover, Dorotha Cramer Turley, Vere Brannon, Alfred Stump Jr.

1953: Nortia Wright Ballato, Ivalou Lamb Bourne, Gayford M. Williams, H. Paul Brannon, Merrell Church Strawn, Murdayne Marks Blosser, Gary Campbell, Robert Huffman, Juanita Brannon Berdine, Robert Berdine, Perry C. Deweese

1954: Burl Nichols, Monna Sampson Rice, Marvin D. Stemple, Bill Woody. Joe Kimble. Nina Godfrey McCartney, Helen McCumbers Hale, Emma Starcher Thorn, Mike Ferrell, David Kirby, Lyla Stump Sharps

1955: Loyd Wright, Eleanor Dobbins Evans, Bernard R. Williams, Voras K. Haynes, Donna Rowh Hickman, Pat Radabaugh

1956: Jerry Clayton, Virginia Ferguson Ice, Peggy Kight, Tom Yoak, Sandra Stevens Marshall, Robert L. Nichols, Roy L. Shaffer, William Dillon, James R. Jones

1957: James E. Hensley, Peggy Whytsell Stemple, Richard Barnes, Carlene Nicholas Frederick, Mary Bailess Knotts, Billy B. Wilson

1958: Dottie Rose Radabaugh, JoAnn Propst Stevens, Bob Weaver, Edsel Arnold, Verl D. Gibson, Ralph Eugene Murphy, Roberta Offutt Wilson. Betty McCoy Kerby, Dalton Siers, Judith Ayers Stump

1959: Paul Vannoy, James E. Knotts, French A. Stump, Betty Brown Arnold, Bill Godfrey, Shirley Deel Murphy, Ronald L. Newell, Ruth J. Stump, James McKown, Sharon Siers Radabaugh

1960: Donald Nelson Bland, Joan Fluharty Campbell, Anne Barnes Smith, Bill Umstead, Sidney Underwood, Joe Law, Betty Estep Kerby

1961: Betty Parsons Earl, Mike Vaughan, Paul Mollohan, Theda Roberts Deuley, Denver Yoak, Roger Huffman, Carol Deweese Siers, Herbert Smith, Jr., James Kimble

1962: Larry Cottrell, Paul Delmas Tingler II, Ernest Paul Edgell, Richard Starcher, Sharon Weekley Hill, Nelson R. McKown, Burl Simers, Helen Robinson Keith, Lloyd Keith, Carolyn Owens Preston, James Yoak, Ronnie W. Groves, Janet Riddle Johnson, Brenda Starcher Jones, Carolyn Brown Knotts

1963: Judith Smith Swisher

1964: Virginia Stump Bland, Larry Craddock, Emily Stump Gainer, Carolyn Stemple Kelley, Carol Yoak Taylor, Ronald Vannoy, Ioka Morrison Echard, Judith Stump Bonser, Stephen A. White, Dianne Parsons Law, Roy Parsons, Patricia Siers Vannoy, Mary Propst Wilson

1965: Peggy Hall Helmick, James R. Morris, Joe Tingler, Joyce Ball Fitzwater, Roger Propst, Ron Blankenship, Kathryn Morford Gainer, Terry Snider Harris, Helen Morrison Irvine, Joanna Kerby Molessa, Linda Murphy Blair, Sharon Hartshorn Lynch, James R. Sturms, Nancy Bailess Taylor, John J. Vannoy, Carroll Dean Weekley

1966: Jean Muncy Simers, Andrew Molessa, Stave Mowery, Bernard M. Blair, Sandra Parsons Kimble

1967: Georgia Basnett Stalnaker, Karen Collins Yoak

1968: Loretta Hathaway Propst, Robert N. Stalnaker, Sharman Evans Mathhew

1969: Denzil Richards, Sr.

1971: Eli Tingler, Hazel Yoak Tingler

1973: Cheryl Cheesbrew

1997: Eric Underwood

Honor classes this year: 1942 (70th); 1952 (60th); 1962 (50th), and 1972 (40th). The alumni group is seeking speakers for each of the classes.

The alumni scholarship will be announced.

Alumni can register, meet and greet between 9-11:15 a.m. with a special program at 11:30 a.m., followed by lunch.

Class mini-reunions will be held in the afternoon with class photos to be taken and a school tour.

Alumni president Loyd Wright says volunteers are always needed to put on the event.

Registration fee is $18 at the door for those who did not pre-register.

Alumni are asked to join the alumni association for $5.

ADDRESS: CCHS Alumni Association, Box 11, Grantsville WV 26147.

OFFICERS: Loyd Wright(1955) 740-374-5108 president; Anne Smith (1960) 304-354-7260 vice-president; Jean Simers (1966) 304-354-7315 secretary; Emily Gainer (1964)304-354-6923 treasurer.

Hur Herald from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020