Ritchie and eight other West Virginia counties are now under a state of emergency after Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin added Lincoln and Wayne counties to the list from recent wind and rain storms.

Flooding and wind damage prompted Tomblin to declare the emergency. The other counties are Doddridge, Harrison, Marion, Monongalia, Preston, and Taylor.

The declaration allows the National Guard to assist with hauling off debris, clearing roads and providing other assistance.

The recent storm drifted just north of Calhoun, missing the area.

The National Weather Service confirms that two tornadoes touched down in southwestern West Virginia during recent severe storms.

Two tornados officially declared in WV.

The weather service's Storm Prediction Center website says an EF-3 tornado damaged numerous buildings and trees in Wayne County on Friday. An EF-2 tornado in Mingo County caused a 280-foot radio tower to collapse.

No injuries reported.

Hur Herald ©from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be not be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online ©Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019