From Calhoun County High School Devil News

Mu Alpha Theta is an organization that was organized in 1954 for the purpose of promoting scholarship in and an enjoyment and understanding of mathematics among students. It is an honor to be selected for membership in this organization which has over 1000 chapters across the United States and in some foreign countries. The Calhoun County High School Chapter was chartered in 1987 under the leadership of Jane Sims, a former teacher at CCHS. In 1991, Pamela Bartlett became and remains the sponsor for the group.

To be eligible for membership in Mu Alpha Theta, students must have completed at least three college preparatory math courses, including Algebra I, Algebra II and Geometry. Students must have at least a "B" average in all math courses taken. Once inducted into Mu Alpha Theta, students are encouraged to continue taking advanced math and science courses each term.

The new inductions at CHS were made in April.

During the second semester, usually in March, students who believe they may be eligible complete an application for membership. These applications are then checked against official transcripts to make sure that the students do indeed meet the requirements.

In recent years, the National Honor Society and Mu Alpha Theta have held induction ceremonies the same evening with a shared reception for students and their families.

New Inductees for school year 2002-2003 are:

James Bailey, Holly Burch, Keith Carpenter, Brandon Fox, Marcus Davis, Ashley DeWeese, Jessica Gherek, Sarah Gherek, Amber Goodrich, Danielle Goodrich, Laura Hall, Tiffany Hall, Erika Harold, Leah Harold, Melissa Hartshorn, Zachary Houchin, Jake Krack, Jamie McKown, Jennifer Siers, Matthew Thomas, Heather Weaver, Dana Yatauro

The National Honor Society is the nations premier organization established to recognize outstanding high school students who have demonstrated excellence in scholarship, leadership, service and character.

New Inductees to the National Honor Society are:

Ryan Bremar, Jared Brewer, Elizabeth Cunningham, Ashley DeWeese, Sarah Gherke, Amber Goodrich, Tiffany Hall, Melissa Hartshorn, Zachary Houchin, Chelsie Hupp, Vickie Lamont, Sarah Lynch, Megan McKinstry, Samantha Parsons, Katie Perkins, Steven Rogers, Barbara Shock, Travis Tanner, Pat Wildfire, Debbie White, Natalie White

Hur Herald from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob and Dianne Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021