L-R Row 1 (seated): Megan McKinstry, Erin Smith, Ashlea Bush, Bliss Masiarczyk, Amanda Frederick, Misty Perkins, Natalie White; Row 2 (standing): Mr. Mike Offutt - Principal, Dustin Wagoner, Suzanne Lynch, Darris Hupp, Danielle McBride, Shane Yeager, Sonja McKown, Nikki Church, Tiffany Conley, Derek Metz, David Albaugh, Erika Harold, Christopher Wade, Evan Cunningham, Mr. Ronald Blankenship - Superintendent

Photo courtesy of CHS

Twenty Calhoun High School students received full-tutition PROMISE Scholarships at a ceremony yesterday. Secretary of Education and the Arts, Kay Goodwin, presented the grants asking Calhoun kids to fulfill their "dreams at home, West Virginia needs for you to develop your careers here."

"Don't listen to naysayers," said Goodwin, who was filling in for Gov. Bob Wise, who was in flooded southern West Virginia. Principal Mike Offutt presented the scholarships to the first time PROMISE group.

Superintendent Ron Blankenship (L) and Education Secretary Goodwin salute students

Kids with promise wait on their scholarship, based on personal achievement

Calhoun Superintendent of Schools congratulated the students for their achievements and said "This is an exciting event for our students to get these kind of scholarships." Also attending the ceremony, school board members, Rick Fitzwater, Carlene Frederick and Ralph Cunningham, in addition to Delegate Bill Stemple.

Hur Herald from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob and Dianne Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021