Jan. 2011 - The National Trust for Historic Preservation joined a lawsuit against the National Park Service challenging the removal of the Blair Mountain Battlefield from the National Register of Historic Places.

The Battle of Blair Mountain, fought in 1921, was the largest armed confrontation in U.S. labor history, with the US Army called to drop bombs on protesting miners.

The Trust says removing Blair Mountain violates federal law and endangers the preservation of the historic site.

The battle involved thousands of union miners marching toward the non-union coalfields in Logan County, was fought along a 15-mile ridgeline between Boone and Logan counties.

The Sierra Club, Friends of Blair Mountain, West Virginia Labor History Association and Ohio Valley Environmental Council have filed legal actions to preserve Blair Mountain.

The designation has widely been fought by Massey Energy and Arch Coal, who want parts of the site for mountaintop removal.

In 2006, the National Trust listed Blair Mountain on its list of America's 11 Most Endangered Historic Places.

The National Park Service removed Blair Mountain from its National Register on Dec. 30, 2009.

The National Park Service said "de-listing" was necessary because of a procedural error that miscalculated the percentage of property owners who objected to nominating the site for preservation.

See related stories THE NEW BATTLE OVER BLAIR MOUNTAIN - Historical Designation Short Lived, Over 100 Miners Died In 1921, Government Ordered Bombs, Gas Dropped


SAVING BLAIR MOUNTAIN - WVs Famous Historical Site

Hur Herald ©from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be not be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online ©Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019