Calhoun's award-winning wrestlers rose near the top again.

Calhoun closed out an up-and-down wrestling season on a high note Saturday night as it finished second in the state among Class AA/A teams and in the process crowned three individual champions.

While Point Pleasant scored 170.5 points to beat Calhoun (152.5) by 18 and end Oak Glen's 13-year chokehold on the Class AA/A wrestling championship the Red Devils more than did themselves proud.

Calhoun had individual titles by Cody Clark (135), Ben Laughlin (152) and Tim Sutro (189) to go along with second-place finishes by Jared Haught (160) and Aaron Yoak (171) while Austin Moore took a third at 125.

Berkeley Spring was third at 143.5, Oak Glen fourth at 142.5 and Roane County fifth 102.5.

Wirt was sixth at 97.5 followed by Cameron (84) in seventh, Williamstown (77.5) in eighth, Clay (64) in ninth and Braxton (63) in 10th. Calhoun, Roane, Wirt, Williamstown, Clay and Braxton are all in the Little Kanawha Conference giving the LKC six of the top 10 Class AA/A teams in the state.

Clark, who beat Roane's Brad Hickman 4-2 in the championship match, ran his record to 49-0 and was named the tournament's Most Outstanding Wrestler.

Laughlin scored a 7-1 decision over Cameron's Tanner Whyte at 152 and Sutro pinned Point Pleasant's Brock McClung at 5:41 at 189 in their championship-winning matches.

At 160 pounds freshman Haught suffered a late pin at 5:58 in the championship match losing to Tory Bennett of Berkeley Springs while Yoak lost a 13-7 decision to Weirton Madonna's Max Nogay at 171.

Calhoun sent nine wrestlers to the tournament and six placed.

Hur Herald ©from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be not be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online ©Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019