Filing for the 2010 off-year primary election starts on January 11 at the Calhoun Clerk's office.

Locally, seats are up for County Clerk, Circuit Clerk, a County Commission seat, and three slots for the Board of Education.

The House of Delegate seat, a two-year term, is open, with incumbent Del. David Walker running.

Calhoun resident Ron Blankenship, who nearly beat Walker in the last election by about 15 votes, says he will file candidacy papers.

A large field of candidates from the three county district split the delegate vote, causing Blankenship's defeat.

Longtime County Clerk Richard Kirby is retiring, with deputy clerk Connie Smith, saying she will be filing for the seat.

Longtime Circuit Clerk Shelia Garretson will be seeking re-election.

County Commissioner Bob Weaver will be seeking re-election, with candidates from Lee, Sheridan and Center Districts eligible.

Three positions are open for the Calhoun Board of Education, seats currently held by Lee Evans, Steve Whited and Larry Harris.

Only two board members can serve in any district at one time, so in this race, only one board member can be elected from Sherman and Lee Districts.

Positions are open for the county executive committees and conservation district supervisors.


County Clerk - $475 (Salary $47,520)
Circuit Clerk - $475 (Salary $47,520)
County Commission - $244 (Salary $24,420)
Board of Education - $25
House of Delegates - $100 (Salary $20,000)
State Senate - $200 (Salary $20,000)

Hur Herald ©from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be not be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online ©Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019