By Gaylen Duskey

Calhoun had no answer for Braxton County's 6-5 Trey Chapman and the Eagle senior torched the Red Devils for 31 points en route to a 72-54 victory Friday night at Mount Zion.

Chapman was most effective in the second quarter when he scored 13 of the Eagles' 23 points turning a close game into a game that was not. He punctuated his outburst by hitting a three-point shot right before the buzzer. Overall, Chapman was 12 for 14 from the field and six of seven from the free throw line to go along with his 10 rebounds, two blocks and two assist night.

Braxton also had a great night shooting three point goals as it hit one eight of nine attempts.

Otherwise Calhoun gave the Eagles a challenge.

Calhoun, now 1-1, was led by Zach Moore with 24 points and 11 rebounds. He was backed by Justin Gerwig with 17. Chuck Kendall added seven to go along with his game high six steals while Kyle Keesler had four and Anthony Richards two. Cai Clothier, Bronson Clark, Randy Fluharty, Daniel Sims and Tyler Bennett all played but did not score.

Braxton also won the junior varsity game by a 54-34 count as three players hit in double figures and all nine team members scored.

Calhoun was led by Brandon Sampson who came off the bench to post a team high 11 points and 10 rebounds before fouling out. He was backed by Tyler Bennett and Caleb Schoolcraft with seven each while Ricky Hall added four and Stewart Fitzwater and Derek Dawson two each. Luke Moore, Quinton Murphy and Trent Phillips all played but did not score.

Calhoun will return to action Tuesday night when it travels to Parkersburg Catholic. Braxton County is home to Webster County Wednesday.

Hur Herald ©from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be not be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online ©Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019