While Relay For Life is a fund raising event for the American Cancer Society, it is a time for the community to come together and give hope to cancer victims and their families.

It is a compelling moment when Calhoun's Cancer survivors take to the walking track, and stride around the field behind the banners, examples of the success of medical science and their will to live.

It is also a compelling moment when hundreds of luminaries are lit to remember community members who have been taken by the disease.

The toll has been enormous in this part of the world.

Front-line Calhoun survivors commence the 2009 walk

Racers ready for starting gun

The Honorary Chairs for the 2009 event were John and Trish Vannoy.

The event featured music, races, drawings, and special recognitions.

Grantsville scouts do pledge honors. Event had
holiday theme, here serving Thanksgiving dinner

Monster Halloween theme (left), a slow-speed racer

Evelyn McCormick churns. Luminaries ready for lighting


Teams included Bosom Buddies, Minnie's Heaven's Helpers, Pleasant Hill Crusaders, Prosperity Baptist Church, S.W.A.T., Team Aaron-Hospice Care Corp., and the "Wood Chuckers."

Other event helpers: Calhoun County Wood Festival, Jim, Colleen and Michael Sullivan, Charlie Whipkey, Emerson Bowling Lanes, Marissa Taylor, Chelsea Hicks, Lindsay Webb, Shari Johnson, Autumn Blair, Calvin Wilson, Side FX, Delmar McKown, Dick Ullum, Boy Scouts, Janet Heiney, Tish Vannoy, Reta Barker, Reverend Rick Metheney, Jennifer Propst-Miller, Shauna Church, and Paint the Town Purple participants.

Relay for Life sponsors: Grantsville Foodland, Minnie Hamilton Health System, Calhoun Banks, WVRC 104.7, WVRW 107.7, Hur Herald, Calhoun Chronicle, Stump Cattle Company, Drilco Oil and Gas, Cain Oil and Gas, Furr's Auto Sales, Houchin's Construction, Rogers & Son Oil and Gas,Key Energy Services, and Traders Guide Inc.

Committee Members: Barb McKown, Chair, Carol Sloane, Co-Chair, with Jean Simers, Carl Ballengee, Jim Sullivan, Molly Yoak, Carlene Frederick, Carol Dye, Debbie King, Chris Church, Judy Powell, Gail Krugman and Shauna Church.

Hur Herald ©from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be not be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online ©Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019