The Hur Herald will print, at no charge, a background and announcement statement with a picture of each candidate. Candidates must submit the bio (about 200 words) and photo no later than February 9, 2002. Submit by snail mail to Hur Herald, HC65, Box 120, Mount Zion, WV 26151 or e-mail bob@hurherald.com.

No one has filed for the Calhoun County Board of Education at 4 p.m. Tuesday, according to Circuit Clerk Shelia Garretson. Three openings need to be filled and the deadline is this Saturday, January 26, 2002 at midnight. There is talk that some or all of the incumbents may file later in the week. The three members whose terms are expiring include Rick Fitzwater, Carlene Frederick and Juanita Berdine. Meanwhile, the field is open.

Rick Postalwait (Democrat) is still unopposed for a magistrate seat.

Two more residents filed for public office last week, both for the Calhoun Commission.

Steve Whited (Democrat) has filed for Calhoun Commission. He is a 25-year-resident of Calhoun, and is the Chief Operations Officer at Minnie Hamilton Health Care Center, having degree in business and finance. Married to Karen Gherke, they have two children, Brandi, 3, and a newborn, Karli.

Rick Sampson (Democrat), owner of Rick's Pro-Hardware on Route 5, is also seeking to fill the vacancy. He and his wife Arlene have three children.

Grantsville dentist Lynn Gilbert (Democrat) and incumbent David Barr (Republican) of White Pine have also filed for county commission.

Chloe resident Rose Jarvis has filed for Democratic Executive Committee, in addition to Burl Postalwait of Grantsville.

Hur Herald from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob and Dianne Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021