The Calhoun Commission worked on a grant request list at their Monday night meeting and continued to review a Court Security Grant for the courthouse.

Commissioners also approved to place the Sunday Hunting option on the May ballot. (SEE earlier story)

The Commissioners elected Larry McCallister to be President for the year 2002.

A meeting has been scheduled with a representative from the West Virginia Supreme Court to discuss the allocation of space in the courthouse for the new Family Court system.

Barry Pitts, 911 Director, will present a list of road names at the February meeting for possible approval by the Commission for E-911 addressing. The Grantsville and Big Springs areas have already been completed, according to Pitts.

Appointments to the (LEPC) Local Emergency Planning Commission was made for the county, selected by OES Director Bill Stemple.

Jerry Riggs, Department of Highways

Bill Stemple, Director of OES

Barry Pitts, 911 Director

David Barr, County Commission

Sheriff A. D. Parsons/Sgt. Travis Corbett (or designee)

Gary Knight, Mayor of Grantsville (or designee)

Fire Services, Chiefs Dave Johnson/Bill Jones/Rick Perkins

Bill Ellis, MHHCC

Randy Burgess, Calhoun EMS

Verla Longfellow, business community

The Commission set dates for the Board of Equalization and Review in February, including February 1 (4 p.m.); February 6 (4 p.m.); February 11, oil, gas and coal (4 p.m.) and February 15 ( 4 p.m.).

Bonds, bills, wills, settlements and orders were approved, with the next regular meeting scheduled for February 11 at 5 p.m.

Hur Herald from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob and Dianne Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021