By Bob Weaver

Volunteers recognized at dinner

The West Fork Community Park and the 2001 West Virginia Molasses Festival held their annual recognition dinner Sunday in Arnoldsburg. The annual Service Awards went to John and Ella Elliott.

Ella and John Elliott, presented annual service awards

Volunteer of Year awards went to Edwin Dilley and Connie McCartney
(not pictured)

Connie McCartney and Edwin Dilley were Volunteers of the Year. They were presented plaques by chairpersons Linda McCartney and "Dip" Mace.

Most impressive was a group of local citizens attending the dinner who have stuck with the West Fork community project for 36 years. Deward Offutt, long and faithful with the organization presented a slide show history of the group and the festival. "I've always been proud of the people who put time on this park, many are not with us now. There has been a lot of dedication and work," he said. Absent yesterday was long-time volunteer Pete Bush, who is having health problems.

36 years and counting - FRONT ROW: Glenna Fleming, Florence Hall, Ollidene Hall, Margie Evans, Byrnadeen Offutt SECOND ROW: Verda Bush, Ella Elliott, Chloe Alfred, Tressie Sturms, Deward Offutt BACK ROW: John Elliott, Paul Evans, Paul Fleming

Cecil Sturms, a 36-year vet of the project, is recovering from surgery

"Soul Seekers" sing the gospel

Hannah and Sherlene Conley sing patriotic songs

Volunteer workers Linda McCartney and "Dip" Mace
honor other volunteers

L to R Florence Hall, Chloe Alfred, Juanita Berdine

Paul Fleming and Jack "Low Flying" Marks talk

A table of country food lovers

Hur Herald from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob and Dianne Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021