A Gilmer County woman, Shelly Morris DeMarino (Democrat), has filed for prosecuting attorney in Calhoun.

DeMarino was a former prosecuting attorney in Gilmer and assistant prosecuting attorney in Harrison County.

DeMarino was the only candidate to file yesterday.

Circuit judges Tom Evans III, a Ripley Republican, and David Nibert, a Democrat from Pt. Pleasant, both filed for re-election, as did family court judge Larry Whited, a Republican from Grantsville.

Current House of Delegates member Bill Stemple has told friends he intends to file for sheriff, but Stemple generally waits until the last day to to enter a race.

Stemple's last day filing creates a negative situation for county residents who might consider filing for House of Delegates.

There are candidates who have expressed interest in the House seat from the delegate district, which includes Clay and Gilmer.

Former Calhoun sheriff Allen Parsons has announced he will be filing for sheriff.

Incumbent Sheriff Carl Ballengee (Democrat) filed for Sheriff Monday.

Judy Wagoner Bell has filed for magistrate, opposing incumbents Teresa Robinson and Rick Postalwait, all Democrats.

Newcomer Scottie "Chip" Westfall (Democrat) of Grantsville and incumbent Rick Sampson (Democrat) have filed for Calhoun Commission, in addition to Lyle Kerby (Republican).

Newcomer Jim Lemon (Democrat) and incumbent Jason Nettles (Democrat) have filed for Assessor.

With two school board slots open, the incumbents, Joy Starcher and Cynthia Dale, have both indicated they are considering running for another term.

Filing continues through midnight on January 26th.

Hur Herald ©from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be not be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online ©Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019