By Gaylen Duskey

Despite spirited play and a hatful of three-point goals Calhoun came up short again in the quest for that elusive first win of the season Monday night when South Harrison scored a 54-46 victory over the home standing Red Devils.

Senior Josh DeWeese played his best game of the year for Calhoun, now 0-10, with a game-high 21 points, 17 rebounds and five blocked shots. DeWeese was deadly from beyond the three-point arc with four goals.

Fellow senior Andrew Norman added 14 points to the cause before fouling out in the fourth quarter. Norman was proficient from three-point land with a pair of goals.

The rest of the team came up with 11 points as Harold 'Scooby' McCumbers had five, Justin Gerwig four and Josh Cain two. Chuck Kendall, Anthony Richards, Cai Clothier, Greg Myers, Tyler Bennett and CJ Myers all played but did not score.

South Harrison, 2-8, grabbed an early lead only to have the Red Devils battle back and take a small lead midway through the second quarter. But by halftime the Hawks were on top 21-18 and were never headed after that.

South Harrison scored the first 10 points of the second half and Calhoun had to battle back the rest of the way with the Hawks pulling out to a double digit lead only to have the Red Devils cut it to six or seven on numerous occasions.

Davey Wriston led South Harrison with 17 while Bobby Stenger had 10.

South Harrison won the junior varsity game 57-10 behind the 13-point effort of Justin Matheney.

CJ Myers, Quentin Morgan and Dennis Dye led Calhoun with three apiece while Kendall added a point.

Calhoun returns to action Wednesday night with a home doubleheader against Clay County.

Hur Herald ©from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be not be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online ©Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019