Marge Evans (L) new Dem chairperson Bev Mullens (R) is new committee member

Arnoldsburg resident Margie Evans was elected as the chairperson for the Calhoun County Democratic Executive Committee yesterday. Evans replaces Wanda Richards, who recently resigned.

The committee also elected Washington District resident Beverly Mullens to fill a vacancy.

Newly elected Treasurer Maureen Wright of Mt. Zion tendered her resignation because of problems with financial records. She stated she does not want to be held responsible for past record keeping, although she told the committee she would agree to take up the position again if the checking account was cleared.

The committee voted Bob Weaver, President of the County Commission, as "Democrat of the Year". Weaver was selected for "special recognition for the work he has done for the Democratic Party in the the county. He epitomizes the philosophy of the party...." He will be the county's honoree at the Jefferson-Jackson Day Dinner in Charleston on September 22.

Hur Herald from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob and Dianne Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021