The Calhoun County Public Library Levy was approved by 65% of those voting today - 1,015 for and 539 against.

The levy passed in all ten precincts except Orma (No. 19) with 68 against and 37 for and at Minnora (No. 15) at 99 against and 98 for.

Library board president Grace Richards said "This is marvelous. We're really grateful to all the voters and to the school board for their assistance," she said.

The levy provides about $30,000 annually for general operations for the next five years.

A total of 1,707 ballots were cast, with 34.4% of the registered voters casting ballots.

Robert C. Byrd (Democrat) 984; John Raese (Republican) 603 for US Senate.

Shelly Moore Capito (Republican) 862; Mike Callaghan (Democrat) 782 for US Representative.

Larry Edgell (Democrat) 1,012; Wayne Weber, 514 for WV Senate.

William F. Stemple (Democrat) 1,362, unopposed for 33rd House of Delegates.

Kevin Helmick (Democrat) 1,312, unopposed for county commissioner.

484 Democrats voted a straight ticket and 182 Republicans voted a straight ticket.

Hur Herald ©from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be not be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online ©Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019