The Calhoun Commission heard 911 Director Barry Pitts, discuss possible avenues to take in upgrading the counties 911 center. Pitts said he would meet with OES Director Bill Stemple regarding whether to upgrade the present building or possibly look at a newer structure. The current fund to upgrade the 911 facility has $45,000.

The Commission approved $12,1000 from a grant to be used to upgrade courthouse security.

County Clerk Richard Kirby was directed to seek a $10,000 grant from the Governor's office to help pay for the regional jail bill.

The state auditor will be in Calhoun on August 13 to commence the annual audit of county funds.

Deputy Ron Gordon was given permission to use one of the Sheriff's Department old Jeeps for monitoring home confinement cases.

The Commission approved the Governmental Accounting Board's statement #34, which involves a new accounting system.

Richard Kirby said the 33 kids he was overseeing in the summer youth program did "an excellent job." Kirby said the supervisors reported this years workers were the best the program has had in many years.

Resignations accepted from Charles McCroskey, the Deputy Sheriff's Civil Service Board, and Tom Degan from the Calhoun Solid Waste Authority.

A resignation was accepted from Elizabeth Ferrell from the Calhoun County Park Board. She was replaced by Cheryl McCallister.

Other issues discussed in Thursdays meeting (EARLIER Hur Herald stories): Minnora Community Center, deep well drilling and problems with 911 mapping.

The Commission also covered bonds, bills, wills, settlements and reviewed the Budget Control Report for the period ending July 31, 2001. The next meeting has been set for September 10.

Hur Herald ©from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be not be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online ©Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019