Governor Bob Wise has requested that the federal government include Nicholas and Greenbrier counties in the federal disaster declaration.

In a letter to President Bush, Wise also asked for an extension in disaster assistance. The current deadline is Thursday. Those counties are:

Boone, Cabell, Calhoun, Clay, Doddridge, Fayette, Kanawha, Lincoln, Logan, Marion, Mason, McDowell, Mercer, Mingo, Preston, Putnam, Raleigh, Roane, Summers, Taylor, Wayne and Wyoming.

Counties declared disaster areas are eligible for federal assistance.

To date, the Federal Emergency Management Agency has registered more than 98-hundred residents.

More than 14-point-five million dollars in housing funds has been approved, more than two milion dollars in individual and family grants and nearly three million dollars in small business administration loans.

The hardest flooding this month occurred on July Eighth, but additional floods hit last week and this weekend.

Hur Herald from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob and Dianne Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021