Submitted by Mike Kubina

The Calhoun-Gilmer Career Center (CGCC) held their Annual Senior Night Recognition Program, Thursday evening May 4. A large crowd of parents, dignitaries and special guests were on hand to honor the graduates. One hundred and three seniors and post graduates received individual certificates, diplomas, scholarships and skills based, team recognition.

Mr. John Bennett, CGCC Director, gave the official welcome to start the program. He then introduced special guests, scholarship sponsors and individuals that supported CGCC throughout the year. Mr. Bennett also highlighted a few projects that he has obtained funding to be completed in FY 2007.

Faculty Senate President, Patty Cain served as "Master of Ceremonies" for the evening. Mrs. Cain introduced the staff members, as well as, student award winners from all eleven program areas.

(L) Mr. Ron Blankenship, President of CGCC
Administrative Council and Joshua Hanshaw (R) award winner

The top student award winner for 2006 was Josh Hanshaw, the son of Mr. and Mrs. Ron Hanshaw of Chloe, WV. Josh received the Earl J. Gainer, Vocational Student of the Year Award; the Skills USA Award; the Albert Yanni Scholarship Award; and the Michael Whipkey Memorial Scholarship.

Mrs. Mary Hammack, former Criminal Justice Instructor, returned to CGCC to present the Melissa Oshoway Memorial, Criminal Justice Scholarship to Brittany Weaver.

Mrs. Donna Fox (L) presents Jessica Villers with the Cindy Self Award

Mrs. Donna Fox presented the Cindy Ann Self FCCLA Volunteer Service Award to Jessica Villers on behalf of the Pro-Start Management Program. The ProStart students also provided cake, punch and a variety of refreshments for the evening. Mr. David White, CGCC Counselor, presented Faculty Senate Scholarships. He also presented tassels, honor cords and certificates to all National Vocational Honor Society Members.

Mr. John Bennett, CGCC, Director, and Larry Butcher, CGCC Representative for the Gilmer County Board of Education presented five students with Perfect Attendance awards.

L-R - Mr. John Bennett, Larry Butcher, and award winners, Kenneth Smarr, Roxanne Cann, Martha Nations, Larry Weese and Erica Wriston

Everyone attending this year's program experienced a special time of fellowship during the memorial scholarship presentations. Mr. Bennett expressed his personal appreciation to everyone that took part in the program.

Hur Herald ©from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be not be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online ©Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019