Calhoun Assessor Jason Nettles is mailing assessment forms to all taxpayers in Calhoun,
starting July 1. "These forms need to be completed according to the directions and
returned within 30 days," he said.|
There can be a $25 penalty for not completing the forms. Nettles said a taxpayer with dogs
should return the form with $3 per head, and a tag will be returned to them.
"If you are coming into the office to be assessed, please bring the form that is mailed to
you," said Nettles. "It has a pre-printed label."
He advised taxpayers if they do not receive a form, call 304-354-6958, or "you may come
into the office to be assessed."
Assessor Nettles also provided the following public information:
Application For Farm Use Valuation
You may qualify for Farm Use Valuation if all agricultural production, sales and personal use
or consumption equals to a value of $1,000 or more. This amount would also include the
value of farm animals located on the farm. If you receive any royalties or timber income
during the year, it must be less than 50% of the total value of your farm production to
qualify. Your total value is determined from the operation of your farm during the twelve
month period ending June 30, 2001. The Farm use Valuation form may be filed in the
Assessor's Office starting July 1, and no later than September 1.
Notice For Farm Vehicle Use
The 1992 Legislature passed Senate Bill 317 which will require County Assessors to issue
special decals to farmers for use on farm vehicles. These decals are not a form of
registration and do not replace other registration. These decals are used by farmers for
limited use described in the West Virginia Code. You must have filed an application for Farm
Use Valuation. These decals may be purchased in the Assessor's Office for $2.
Residents who will be 65 years of age or older between July 1, 2001 and June 30, 2002 or
who are permanently or totally disabled may apply for the Homestead Exemption during the
months of July, August and September. Applicants must be a resident of West Virginia for
two consecutive years proceeding the tax year to which the Homestead Exemption relates
and must own a home that is used for residential purposes. Anyone who has already applied
for Homestead Exemption, need not re-apply.
Notice To Tax Payers Individual Personal Property
The law provides that every person liable for taxation shall make a report in writing to the
Assessor of their personal property. This report should be filed as soon as possible after
July 1, but no later than the first day of October. Assessments Forms have been mailed. If
you did not receive a form, please call the Assessor's Office at 304-354-6958 and one will be
mailed to you.