Karen Larry, Executive Assistant to the State Superintendent of Schools, presented certificates to principals of Arnoldsburg, Pleasant Hill and Calhoun Middle-High Schools in recognition of achieving Adequate Yearly Progress, at Thursday evening's school board meeting.

All three schools achieved the thresholds established by No Child Left Behind. Larry said 83% of the state's schools met the criteria.

Roger Propst addressed the Board regarding transportation cost for athletics and Irona Yeager, middle school athletic boosters, addressed the board regarding middle school fundraisers.

Ronald Nichols, Executive Director, gave the annual RESA V report.

Following an executive session, the board voted to expell one student for the rest of the year and delayed a decision on a second student.

The board approved:

- Home-School Request 2005-2006 - Jennifer and Donald Beamer - Sarah Beamer (grade 11); Leah Beamer (grade 9); Benjamin Beamer (grade 6); Joel Beamer; (grade 4); Christie Beamer (grade 2).

- Student Transfer Request - Jason Hall (grade 11) to Clay County.

- Out-of-State Transportation Request - Washington State Community College December 2, 2005 - Calhoun-Gilmer Career Center.

- Volunteer Agreements: Lorie Bailey - Arnoldsburg; Patinna Dawson - Pleasant Hill; Betty Ellison - Arnoldsburg; Brenda Holcomb - Arnoldsburg; Anne Lacy - Pleasant Hill; Wavelene McCoy - Arnoldsburg; Donna Richards - Pleasant Hill; EmmaJean Richards - Pleasant Hill; Lisa Sheldon - Pleasant Hill; Angela Slider - Pleasant Hill; Brenda Smith - Pleasant Hill; Michelle Yatauro - Pleasant Hill.


- Retirement/Resignations: Jason Hickman, Jeremy Kirk; Christopher Stewart.

- Job Postings: Special Education Teacher - Itinerant (CMHS); Music Teacher (CMHS); Bus Driver/Maintenance/Sanitation Plant Operator (Bus #12); Assistant Boys Basketball Coach; Math Tutor (CMHS); Mentor - Health/Physical Education (CMHS) (O'Harrow); Mentor - Science (CMHS) (Walker); Custodian III (CMHS); Science Teacher (CMHS).

- Employment: Lorri Cunningham - Special Education Teacher - Itinerant (CMHS); Michael Franek - Music Teacher - (CMHS); Barry Miller - Bus Driver/Maintenance/Sanitation Plant Operator (Bus #12); Adam O'Harrow - Assistant Boys Basketball Coach; Melissa Jones- Math Tutor - CMHS; Gregory Cartwright - Mentor - Assistant Principal (CMHS); Mike Edwards - Substitute Teacher; Cheryl McCallister - Substitute Teacher; Jason Walker - Substitute Bus Operator; Kathryn Counts - Substitute Cook; Kim Keesler - Substitute Cook; Joyce Rogers - Substitute Cook; Dawn Thompson - Substitute Cook; Jacqueline Yoak - Substitute Cook; Leslie Yoak - Substitute Teacher.


Invoices - $368,223.28
Supplements - $19,090.69
Transfers - $25,154.40
Financial Reports

Board members expressed recognition to the student athletes and coaches for their hard work and season. There was a discussion regarding the high school band and the Great American Smoke Out.

All board members were present.

The next meeting is scheduled for December 19 beginning at 7:00 p.m.

Others president: Shelia Burch, Greg Cartwright, Kathy Counts, Karen Elkins, Loretta Freshour, Elvin Hixon, Karen Kirby, Gail Krugman-Bailey, Karen Larry, Shaun Laughlin, Jennifer Miller, Ron Nichols, Michael Offutt, Donnie Pitts, Roger Propst, Connie Roberts, Jacqueline Shimer, Bryan Sterns, Larry Stinn, Carla Taylor, Irona Yeager, Rebecca Yocum.

Hur Herald ©from Sunny Cal
The information on these pages, to the extent the law allows, remains the exclusive property of Bob Weaver and The Hur Herald. information cannot be not be used in any type of commercial endeavor, or used on a web site without the express permission of the owner. Hur Herald published printed editions 1996-1999, Online ©Hur Herald Publishing, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019